Skip to main content

Mental Health - Community Services

The Office of Community Services for Warren and Washington Counties serves as the Mental Health Department for both Warren and Washington Counties. New York State Mental Hygiene Law directs local governments to either "provide or arrange for preventive, rehabilitative, and treatment services for the mentally ill, the mentally retarded and developmentally disabled, and those suffering from the disease of alcoholism and substance abuse."

The Office of Community Services accomplishes this mandate through contractual agreements with not-for-profit agencies within our community. The Office of Community Services is governed by a nine-member Community Services Board in each county, and the County Board of Supervisors. We also oversee a local planning process for the three disability areas through a subcommittee structure of the Community Services Boards. Please follow the links on the side of this page for more information regarding our contract agencies and the specific services that they provide for our community.

The Office of Community Services is responsible for administering the local Single Point of Access (SPOA) for all referrals for mental health residential and case management services. We also coordinate the Assisted Outpatient Treatment (AOT) Program for Warren and Washington Counties. This program provides for an enhanced array of outpatient services, either through voluntary agreement or court order, for eligible individuals over 18 years of age with a history of non-compliance with recommended treatment. Please follow the links on this page, or contact the Office of Community Services at (518) 792-7143 for more information regarding these initiatives.

Please contact our office if you have any questions regarding our services, or need information regarding initiating a referral.

Office of Community Service Staff:

  • Robert York, LCSW, MPA, Director of Community Services
  • Lisa Coutu, LCSW, Deputy Director-Clinical
  • Harry Carlson, MPA, Deputy Director, Fiscal
  • Linda Wright, MA, LMHC, Children & Youth SPOA Coordinator
  • Carrie Wright, Program Analyst
  • Crystal Lawrence, Office Specialist

Mary "Molly" Cochran McConnell Memorial Fund Summer Camp Scholoarship