Washington County Community Service Board

Board Members

Composition and Function of the Community Services Board

New York State Mental Hygiene Law sets forth the composition and function of the Community Services Board for each county. Counties are required to have both a Community Services Board and a Director of Community Services in order to be eligible for State Aid from the various departments and offices of the State.

Composition: The Community Services Board shall have nine members. At least one shall be a licensed physician or a certified psychologist. The members shall represent the community interest in all the problems of the mentally disabled and shall include representatives from community agencies for the mentally ill, the mentally retarded and developmentally disabled and those suffering from alcoholism and substance abuse.

Responsibilities: The Community Services Board is responsible for planning, reviewing and overseeing all services to the mentally disabled within its geographic area. These functions include:

CSB Subcommittees
Warren County Community Services Board