Board Of Supervisors

The Warren County Board of Supervisors functions in accordance with rules and regulations established under the New York State Constitution and State laws. It acts as both the legislative and executive branches of County government.

The Board of Supervisors consists of twenty supervisors that are elected every two years (or four years in the case of the Town of Chester and the Town of Warrensburg). At the first meeting of the year, a Chairman is selected, who presides at all the meetings and appoints standing and special committees.

Warren County is comprised of eleven towns and the City of Glens Falls. Under the Glens Falls City Charter, one supervisor is elected from each of its five wards. Queensbury has five supervisors, one Town Supervisor and four County Supervisors. Each of the other ten towns have one supervisor.

In Warren County, strong emphasis is placed on the committee system, and each committee exercises a certain amount of supervisory authority on behalf of the legislative body over the operational arrangements for the provision of specific services or activities. Nearly 95% of the resolutions enacted by the Board of Supervisors originate through one or more of its twenty standing committees or three special committees.

All committee meetings, as well as meetings of the Board of Supervisors, are open to the public. On occasion, the committees and/or the Board will go into Executive Session to discuss litigation or personnel problems; but before doing so, the purpose of the session will be announced.

The Board of Supervisors, under rules adopted by the Board, meets on the third Friday of each month at 10:00 a.m. The public is welcome and urged to participate; and at a given point during these sessions, privilege of the floor is granted to all who desire to speak.

Return to the Departments List