
CASH BENEFITS
The benefit is 50% of your average weekly wage, up to a  
maximum of $170 a week. The average weekly wage is  
based on the wages for the eight weeks of work prior to 
the last day worked. Benefits are paid for up to 26 weeks 
of disability during 52 consecutive weeks. Benefits are 
subject to Social Security taxes. 

There is a seven-day waiting period; benefits begin on 
the eighth consecutive day of disability. The first benefit 
payment is due within four business days after the 14th 
day of disability, or four business days after receipt of the 
claim, whichever is later. Benefits are payable every two 
weeks during the period of disability. 

Employers must give eligible workers a Statement of 
Rights - Disability Benefits Law (Form DB-271S) within five 
days of learning that the worker is disabled. 

Your right to benefits may be affected if you quit your job 
for reasons unrelated to the disability. 

PREGNANCY
Disability can occur at any time during pregnancy or after 
childbirth. Expectant or new mothers may collect disability 
benefits while on maternity leave, assuming they are 
otherwise eligible. A physician or certified nurse midwife 
must certify disability with medical reports. Sometimes an 
insurer may ask for more detailed medical information for 
extensive disabilities. 

PREMIUMS AND COVERAGE
An employer may collect a contribution from its 
employees to offset the disability benefits insurance 
premium. The contribution is up to one-half of one  
percent of wages, up to 60 cents a week. 

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE  
AND DISABILITY BENEFITS
If you are receiving Unemployment Insurance benefits 
and become disabled between four and 26 weeks after 
ending employment, you may be eligible for disability 
benefits from the first day of disability. However, you 
cannot receive Unemployment Insurance benefits and 
disability benefits at the same time. You are eligible 
only if you can’t collect Unemployment Insurance 
benefits because an injury or illness prevents you 
from seeking employment and, therefore, disqualifies 
you from receiving further Unemployment Insurance 
benefits. File a Notice and Proof of Claim for Disability 
Benefits (Form DB-450) directly with the Workers’ 
Compensation Board at: 

Workers’ Compensation Board

Disability Benefits Bureau

P.O. Box 9029

Endicott, NY 13761-9029

Injured off the Job? 
A Guide to Disability Benefits

In New York, for-profit employers and some not-for-profit employers are  
required to carry disability benefits insurance. It pays you temporary cash 
benefits if you can’t work because you were injured or became ill outside your 
employment. In other words, the injury or illness happened off-the-job. 
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The New York State Workers’ Compensation Board protects the rights of employees and employers by ensuring the proper delivery  
of benefits and by promoting compliance with the law. To learn more about the Workers’ Compensation Board, visit wcb.ny.gov.

For more information, visit: wcb.ny.gov
For questions about your disability benefits claim,  
you must call your employer’s insurance carrier

For general information about disability benefits,  
you may call (877) 632-4996

SUPPLEMENTAL DISABILITY  
BENEFITS PLANS
Your employer may offer a supplemental disability benefits 
insurance plan. Supplemental plans have different benefits 
than those required under the mandatory (or statutory) 
insurance described here. Since the plans can vary, 
please contact your employer directly to learn about the 
benefits that may be available to you. 

RESTRICTIONS
You cannot receive disability benefits if you are working. 
Disability benefits insurance does not cover medical care. 
Benefits are not payable for disability periods due to 
elective surgery.

Prospective employers may not ask you about your 
disability benefits claims before hiring you.

HOW TO FILE A CLAIM
1. �File Notice and Proof of Claim for Disability Benefits 

(Form DB-450) with your employer or insurance carrier 
within 30 days of becoming disabled. This form is 
available at wcb.ny.gov. 

If your claim is not paid promptly, contact your 
employer or your employer’s insurance carrier.

If you file late, you may not be paid for any disability 
period more than two weeks before the date the claim 
is filed. Late filings may be excused if you can show that 
it wasn’t reasonably possible to file earlier. No benefits 
are payable if you file more than 26 weeks after your 
disability begins, or after you return to work.

2. �Your health care provider must complete Part B of  
Form DB-450, Health Care Provider’s Statement. 

OTHER CIRCUMSTANCES
  �Rejected Claim: If your claim is rejected, you have the 
right to request a review of the rejection. Submit your 
request to:	Workers’ Compensation Board  
	 Disability Benefits Bureau, P.O. Box 9029  
	 Endicott, NY 13761-9029 

If you’re still disabled and your benefits stop before  
the 26-week benefit period has passed and you have 
medical evidence of a disability, you have the right to 
submit a request for review to the Disability Benefits 
Bureau. Further benefits may be paid by the insurance 
carrier if a claim is determined proper and valid. Where 
necessary, the Board will request additional information 
and may hold a hearing on your claim.

  �Auto Accident: You may receive disability benefits  
for an injury incurred in an auto accident. No-fault 
benefits may be reduced pending eligibility for 
disability benefits. 

  �Social Security Benefits: If you’re still working and 
receiving Social Security retirement benefits, you may 
be eligible for disability benefits. However, if you’re 
receiving Social Security disability benefits, and you 
also file a claim for NYS disability benefits, you will 
receive the larger of the two benefits, not both. 

For example, if your Social Security disability benefit is 
$400, and your NYS disability benefit is $170, you will 
only receive $400.

LANGUAGE ASSISTANCE
The Board will translate documents into any language you 
need. It will also provide an interpreter for your hearing, 
always at no cost to you. Please call (877) 632-4996 to 
arrange translation or interpretation.
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